BF expectations.

Praise or Complain about your prior Black Friday Experiences

Moderators: Tony, cematra173, killasnake, Huy

hey2abills
Black Friday Pro

BF expectations.

Postby hey2abills » Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:29 am

Just wondering what everyone thinks on this. For years I was a manager or sales consultant taking part in many black fridays, and for a few years I have been on this site. And it seems like every year a lot of people are not pleased with the sales on black friday. Each year I hear and read "This isn't as good as last year."
Is it possible that people over hype black friday, or remember things as just a little bit better than they actually were?

Just curious for everyone's thoughts.

nikkigirl01
Black Friday Pro

Re: BF expectations.

Postby nikkigirl01 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:39 am

I think a lot of it this year is that finances are TOUGH for a lot of people. More than ever, "we" are trying to make our Christmas shopping money go further and last longer. Many are being forced to be picky as to what deals they actually purchase this year, whereas in previous years it was more of a "get whatever you can get your hands on" attitude.

For me personally, I have only been impressed with ONE item from ONE store. (1600 piece Lego Box at WM...which if you know anything about the price of Legos, is a STEAL.) I don't buy electronics on BF, so I can't comment on those deals, but the toy deals so far have been HORRIBLE. (Hoping for Target to really step it up.) Even then, I have to really weigh my options, because unlike previous years, I don't have a CC to max out.

sportymonkey
Black Friday Pro

Postby sportymonkey » Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:40 am

Well I don't think its neccessarily the hype but with the economy I would think that there would be bigger or more dramatic deals. Then again I am not paying attention to the tv's or laptops. Until I see some good toy deals I can't give a true yes or no, kwim.